Novel Basking

Emory in the grass.JPG

Raptor enrichment is always on my mind as I plan interesting things to keep the birds occupied, but it is easy to forget about the snakes that rest quietly in their enclosures. I found Emory the Great Plains Rat Snake cruising around her habitat one morning and wondered what kind of contraption I could construct to change up her routine. Then I realized there was an easier, ready-made enrichment item: the great outdoors!

Both of our snakes hatched in captivity and are accustomed to living indoors. To create a novel experience for Emory, we went out to the backyard and I set her gently in the grass. She wiggled a bit, free from my grasp, but then lay still. Her tongue flicked out a few times before she rested completely motionless. A snake’s thoughts are impossible to read, but I wondered if she was overwhelmed by this new environment or just enjoying it. The texture of green grass, vibrations traveling through the ground, the bright glare and heat of the sun were new experiences that we will continue to explore through the summer and into fall.

Leave a comment